Time to Contain

Microsoft Sentinel

Microsoft Sentinel is a cloud SIEM whose automation rules and Logic Apps playbooks take incidents from the same product, including those ingested from Microsoft Defender XDR. It places ninth of 14 at 5.14, with 9 of 25 containment actions documented. Prices are public, but the automation docs describe no approval gate, rollback or time-to-contain figure.

no figureNo time-to-contain figure found on the pages read for this platform.
5.14Total on the published rubric, 9th of 14. 9 of 25 containment actions documented.

What Microsoft Sentinel is

Sentinel is a cloud SIEM built on Azure Monitor Log Analytics workspaces. It runs analytics rules, KQL hunting, and automation rules that can call Azure Logic Apps playbooks, plus a data lake tier for long-term data (microsoft.com/en-us/security/pricing/microsoft-sentinel, read 2026-11-03).

Automation rules trigger on incident created, incident updated or alert created. Playbooks are Logic Apps workflows, charged on top of Sentinel (learn.microsoft.com, read 2026-11-03). After 2027-03-31 the product is supported only in the Microsoft Defender portal.

Microsoft Sentinel is a cloud SIEM built on Azure Monitor Log Analytics workspaces. It runs analytics rules, KQL hunting, automation rules that can call Azure Logic Apps playbooks, and a data lake tier for long-term security data. microsoft.com, read

Products named: Microsoft Sentinel (analytics tier), Microsoft Sentinel data lake, Microsoft Sentinel graph, Automation rules, Playbooks (Azure Logic Apps), Azure-Sentinel GitHub content repository.

Ownership. Microsoft Sentinel is a Microsoft product. Azure portal support ends after 2027-03-31; from then it runs only in the Microsoft Defender portal. vendor claim learn.microsoft.com, read

no figureon the pages read

Published time to contain

FigureMetricSample and who measuredGradeSource
Reduces mean time to respond by about 30 percenttime to respond or remediatenot stated on page. Measured by vendor. Date: not stated.Cvendor claim microsoft.com, read

None of these is a time to contain, so the home table shows an open bar. Grades run A (independent, method published) to D (unverifiable). The evidence register explains each grade.

9 of 254 of 5 domains

Containment coverage

Of 25 containment actions across EDR, identity, email, cloud and network, Microsoft Sentinel documents 9 as native or partner on the pages read: 9 native, 0 partner, 0 custom step only, 16 not documented. Coverage share is 36 percent.

  • native, vendor-documented
  • partner or third-party documented
  • custom step only
  • not documented on the pages read
Microsoft Sentinel: 25 containment actions by status
PlatformEDRIdentityEmailCloudNetwork
Isolate hostRelease isolationKill processQuarantine fileRun script or live responseBlock hashDisable userForce password resetRevoke sessions or tokensRequire MFA re-enrolmentRemove from group or roleDelete a delivered messageQuarantine a delivered messageBlock sender or domainRemove a URL rewrite exemptionPull from quarantineDisable IAM user or access keyRevoke cloud sessionIsolate or stop an instanceChange a security group or firewall ruleRevoke OAuth app consentBlock IP or domain at the firewallBlock at the proxy or DNS filterDisable a switch port or NAC quarantineAdd to a threat list on the NDR
Microsoft Sentinel9 of 25 documentedMicrosoft Sentinel: Kill process, not documentedMicrosoft Sentinel: Quarantine file, not documentedMicrosoft Sentinel: Block hash, not documentedMicrosoft Sentinel: Force password reset, not documentedMicrosoft Sentinel: Require MFA re-enrolment, not documentedMicrosoft Sentinel: Quarantine a delivered message, not documentedMicrosoft Sentinel: Block sender or domain, not documentedMicrosoft Sentinel: Remove a URL rewrite exemption, not documentedMicrosoft Sentinel: Pull from quarantine, not documentedMicrosoft Sentinel: Disable IAM user or access key, not documentedMicrosoft Sentinel: Revoke cloud session, not documentedMicrosoft Sentinel: Revoke OAuth app consent, not documentedMicrosoft Sentinel: Block IP or domain at the firewall, not documentedMicrosoft Sentinel: Block at the proxy or DNS filter, not documentedMicrosoft Sentinel: Disable a switch port or NAC quarantine, not documentedMicrosoft Sentinel: Add to a threat list on the NDR, not documented

Basis: Microsoft Learn pages for the Azure Logic Apps connectors that Sentinel playbooks use, and playbook templates from the Azure-Sentinel repository. The repository directory listing could not be fetched, so only templates reached by direct path were read. Defender XDR automatic attack disruption (contain device, contain user) is documented but is a Defender feature, not a Sentinel playbook action. Read 2026-11-04.

Limits: Sentinel template catalogue not fully enumerable from this environment; coverage is likely understated.

The full grid, with the page behind each cell, is on the scorecard. A cell reads not documented when the pages read did not show the action. That is a finding about public material, not a claim that the action is absent.

5.14rank 9 of 14

Rubric scores

Microsoft Sentinel is in a band with Dropzone AI (5.00), Prophet Security (4.87), Mate Security (4.87). A band is a run of neighbouring totals. Bands chain: a new band starts only where the gap to the total above exceeds 0.25, so a band can be wider than 0.25 and the order inside it is not an order.

Microsoft Sentinel: eight criteria, each scored 0 to 10, weighted, and summed. Weighted points are weight times score divided by 100.
CriterionWeightScorePointsStatus, reason and source
Native containment coverage254.71.175partial. 9 of 25 containment actions documented as native or partner (36 percent) across 4 of 5 domains. Score is 2.0 plus 7.5 times the share, capped at 9.5.
Published time-to-contain evidence with method153.50.525not documented. The automation docs publish no time-to-contain figure.
learn.microsoft.com, read
Approval, rollback and blast-radius controls documented155.50.825partial. Docs describe a service account with explicit resource-group permissions (Owner needed to grant), rule order and expiry dates, but no approval gate or rollback for actions inside playbooks.
learn.microsoft.com, read
Explanation and audit trail156.00.900partial. Docs let a rule condition on who updated an incident (user, playbook, automation rule, AIR) which gives change attribution; per-action execution records are not described on this page.
learn.microsoft.com, read
Integration depth documented106.50.650partial. Playbooks run on Azure Logic Apps and rules react to Microsoft Defender alert sources; no action count on this page.
learn.microsoft.com, read
Detection-to-response coupling88.00.640documented. Triggers are incident created, incident updated and alert created inside the product, including incidents ingested from Defender XDR, so no separate SIEM is needed.
learn.microsoft.com, read
Pricing transparency63.50.210not documented. No pricing was read for this record.
learn.microsoft.com, read
Deployment and data handling63.50.210not documented. Data handling was not on the page read; the page notes Sentinel leaves the Azure portal after 2027-03-31 and runs only in the Defender portal.
learn.microsoft.com, read
Total1005.14Sum of the eight weighted points above, to two decimals.

Scores are proposals under the rubric bands, computed in code from the published weights. Where a score rests on a vendor's marketing page only, a read of its documentation can move it.

Where Microsoft Sentinel is strong

  • Triggers are incident created, incident updated and alert created inside the product, including incidents ingested from Microsoft Defender XDR, so no separate SIEM is needed in front. learn.microsoft.com, read
  • Running a playbook from a rule needs the Microsoft Sentinel Automation Contributor role on the playbook's resource group, and a service account needs explicit resource-group permissions. That is a scope control, though not an approval gate. learn.microsoft.com, read
  • Prices are published with units and a region note: pay-as-you-go and commitment tiers for the analytics tier, and per-GB meters for the data lake. Playbooks add Logic Apps charges that the page lists separately. microsoft.com, read

Where Microsoft Sentinel is behind

  • Time-to-contain evidence: none for automation rules. The automation documentation publishes no figure. The Sentinel product page claims Security Copilot reduces mean time to respond by about 30 percent, with no sample stated and the linked research page not read here (read 2026-11-04, vendor claim). learn.microsoft.com, read
  • The docs describe rule order, expiry dates and service-account permissions, but no approval gate and no rollback for actions inside playbooks. A buyer must build both in Logic Apps. learn.microsoft.com, read
  • Azure portal support ends after 2027-03-31, when Sentinel runs only in the Defender portal. Teams that own automation in the Azure portal should plan that move. learn.microsoft.com, read

What only Microsoft Sentinel has

Sentinel automation rules can be exported as ARM JSON for CI/CD, and a rule can test whether a user, a playbook, an automation rule or automated investigation last updated an incident. learn.microsoft.com, read

12prices listed

Pricing as published

vendor claim Analytics tier: pay-as-you-go per GB analysed, or commitment tiers that reserve daily ingestion (100 GB to 50,000 GB per day). Data lake tier: per GB ingested, processed, queried and stored, with separate compute meters. Playbooks add Azure Logic Apps charges. Prices are USD estimates on the pricing page, region selector present, values shown at the page's default region. microsoft.com, read

ItemPriceSource
Analytics tier, pay-as-you-go4.30 USD per GB analysedmicrosoft.com, read
Analytics commitment tier, 100 GB per day296 USD per daymicrosoft.com, read
Analytics commitment tier, 500 GB per day1265 USD per daymicrosoft.com, read
Analytics commitment tier, 1000 GB per day2480 USD per daymicrosoft.com, read
Analytics commitment tier, 10000 GB per day22240 USD per daymicrosoft.com, read
Analytics commitment tier, 50000 GB per day102600 USD per daymicrosoft.com, read
50 GB commitment tier (public preview promotion, 2025-10-01 to 2026-12-31)161.25 USD per daymicrosoft.com, read
Data lake ingestion0.05 USD per GB processedmicrosoft.com, read
Data lake processing0.10 USD per GB processedmicrosoft.com, read
Data lake query0.005 USD per GB analysedmicrosoft.com, read
Data lake storage0.026 USD per GB per monthmicrosoft.com, read
Graph compute3 USD per compute hourmicrosoft.com, read

Trial or free tier. Pricing page advertises up to 5 MB of free daily ingestion per user for key security logs under a Microsoft 365 offer. No general trial terms read. microsoft.com, read

Integrations. No count published; named: Microsoft Entra ID Protection, Microsoft Defender for Cloud, Microsoft Defender for Cloud Apps, Microsoft Defender for Office 365, Microsoft Defender for Endpoint, Microsoft Defender for Identity, Microsoft Defender for IoT, ServiceNow (playbook example), Microsoft Teams and Slack (playbook example). vendor claim learn.microsoft.com, read

1graded

Claims Microsoft Sentinel makes about itself

Each is a vendor claim, graded A to D on the method published: A independent with method, B vendor-measured with sample and method, C a number with no method, D unverifiable. This site's own voice does not repeat any of them as fact.

ClaimMethod statedGradeSource
Commitment tiers save up to 52 percent over pay-as-you-go ratesnot stated. Measured by vendor.Cvendor claim microsoft.com, read

Who should shortlist Microsoft Sentinel

  • Your estate is Microsoft and you want detection, incidents and response in one product with public prices.
  • You have Logic Apps skills and will build approval and rollback yourself.
  • You need to ask the docs, not a salesperson, what a rule can and cannot do.

Microsoft Sentinel places 9th of 14 at a total of 5.14, with 9 of 25 containment actions documented. The natural choice for a Microsoft estate that already ingests Defender incidents, with public prices. The scorecard counts 9 of 25 actions from the pages read, and a Microsoft estate may reach more through Logic Apps connectors than those pages show. It shares a band with Dropzone AI, Prophet Security and Mate Security.

The same platform under other weights

Compare Microsoft Sentinel

Facts on this page were read 2026-11-04 and the days before it; the date beside each source is the date it was read. Last updated 4 November 2026.