Time to Contain

Splunk SOAR (Cisco)

Splunk SOAR, owned by Cisco, publishes 2,800+ automated actions across 300+ third-party tools and deploys in the cloud, on premises or hybrid. It places sixth of 14 at 5.79, with 19 of 25 containment actions documented. The product page states no approval, rollback or audit trail, and customer claims have no method.

no figureNo time-to-contain figure found on the pages read for this platform.
5.79Total on the published rubric, 6th of 14. 19 of 25 containment actions documented.

What Splunk SOAR (Cisco) is

Splunk SOAR is a security orchestration and automation platform that automates tasks and connects to third-party tools. Cisco closed its acquisition of Splunk on 2024-03-18 (siliconangle.com, read 2026-11-03).

Playbooks are built in a Visual Playbook Editor that needs no code, and the Python Editor tab shows the Python the visual playbook generates (help.splunk.com, read 2026-11-04). The product page says SOAR is a native capability within Splunk Enterprise Security, and a Splunk SOAR subscription is required.

vendor claim Splunk SOAR is a security orchestration and automation platform. It automates security tasks and connects to third-party tools. The product page says it runs in the cloud, on-premises or hybrid. splunk.com, read

Products named: Splunk SOAR.

Ownership. Cisco closed its acquisition of Splunk on 2024-03-18 for about $28 billion, at $157 per share in cash. siliconangle.com, read

no figureon the pages read

Published time to contain

No figure on time to contain, or on any adjacent response metric, was found for Splunk SOAR (Cisco) on the pages read. Page returned 404 on the read date.

19 of 255 of 5 domains

Containment coverage

Of 25 containment actions across EDR, identity, email, cloud and network, Splunk SOAR (Cisco) documents 19 as native or partner on the pages read: 18 native, 1 partner, 0 custom step only, 6 not documented. Coverage share is 76 percent.

  • native, vendor-documented
  • partner or third-party documented
  • custom step only
  • not documented on the pages read
Splunk SOAR (Cisco): 25 containment actions by status
PlatformEDRIdentityEmailCloudNetwork
Isolate hostRelease isolationKill processQuarantine fileRun script or live responseBlock hashDisable userForce password resetRevoke sessions or tokensRequire MFA re-enrolmentRemove from group or roleDelete a delivered messageQuarantine a delivered messageBlock sender or domainRemove a URL rewrite exemptionPull from quarantineDisable IAM user or access keyRevoke cloud sessionIsolate or stop an instanceChange a security group or firewall ruleRevoke OAuth app consentBlock IP or domain at the firewallBlock at the proxy or DNS filterDisable a switch port or NAC quarantineAdd to a threat list on the NDR
Splunk SOAR (Cisco)19 of 25 documentedSplunk SOAR (Cisco): Require MFA re-enrolment, not documentedSplunk SOAR (Cisco): Quarantine a delivered message, not documentedSplunk SOAR (Cisco): Pull from quarantine, not documentedSplunk SOAR (Cisco): Revoke cloud session, not documentedSplunk SOAR (Cisco): Revoke OAuth app consent, not documentedSplunk SOAR (Cisco): Add to a threat list on the NDR, not documented

Basis: Action lists in the README of each Splunk SOAR connector repository (the source of the Splunkbase app page). Publisher field read as native when 'Splunk', partner when another vendor. Read 2026-11-03.

Limits: Gmail, Google Workspace, Proofpoint action apps and Vectra were not found in the connector organisation under the names tried.

The full grid, with the page behind each cell, is on the scorecard. A cell reads not documented when the pages read did not show the action. That is a finding about public material, not a claim that the action is absent.

5.79rank 6 of 14

Rubric scores

Splunk SOAR (Cisco) is in a band with Cyware (6.11), Google Security Operations (6.09), Palo Alto Cortex XSOAR (5.91), Swimlane (Turbine) (5.84), Torq (5.74), Tines (5.62). A band is a run of neighbouring totals. Bands chain: a new band starts only where the gap to the total above exceeds 0.25, so a band can be wider than 0.25 and the order inside it is not an order.

Splunk SOAR (Cisco): eight criteria, each scored 0 to 10, weighted, and summed. Weighted points are weight times score divided by 100.
CriterionWeightScorePointsStatus, reason and source
Native containment coverage257.71.925documented. 19 of 25 containment actions documented as native or partner (76 percent) across 5 of 5 domains. Score is 2.0 plus 7.5 times the share, capped at 9.5.
Published time-to-contain evidence with method155.50.825partial. Customer claims only: Tide "minutes to respond ... compared to hours previously" and "up to 95% of incident responses automated", no method; the 7-minute figure is detection, not containment. vendor claim
splunk.com, read
Approval, rollback and blast-radius controls documented153.00.450not documented. No approval, rollback or blast-radius control is stated on the page read.
splunk.com, read
Explanation and audit trail154.00.600not documented. Page names "Comprehensive case management" but describes no audit trail or per-action record.
splunk.com, read
Integration depth documented108.50.850documented. Page states "2,800+ automated actions" and "300+ third-party tools", both a tool count and an action count. vendor claim
splunk.com, read
Detection-to-response coupling86.00.480partial. Page says SOAR consolidates "alerts and data from the various tools in your environment" and that Enterprise Security integration needs a Splunk SOAR subscription; whether a SIEM is required is not stated.
splunk.com, read
Pricing transparency64.50.270not documented. No prices; a free trial with no credit card is offered.
splunk.com, read
Deployment and data handling66.50.390partial. Page says deployment is "via the cloud, on-premises or hybrid"; data handling, retention and residency are not stated.
splunk.com, read
Total1005.79Sum of the eight weighted points above, to two decimals.

Scores are proposals under the rubric bands, computed in code from the published weights. Where a score rests on a vendor's marketing page only, a read of its documentation can move it.

Where Splunk SOAR (Cisco) is strong

  • Vendor claim: the product page states 2,800+ automated actions and 300+ third-party tools. The page gives both counts together. splunk.com, read
  • The page says deployment is via the cloud, on premises or hybrid. Data handling, retention and residency are not stated. splunk.com, read
  • In Splunk Enterprise Security 8, SOAR users can run playbooks and actions from the Analyst Queue, and a Response Plan feature defines phases and tasks inside an investigation, according to a Splunk community post. community.splunk.com, read

Where Splunk SOAR (Cisco) is behind

  • Time-to-contain evidence: customer claims only. Tide says minutes to respond compared with hours before, and up to 95 percent of incident responses automated, with no method. A 7-minute figure on the page is detection, not containment, and the linked Tide story title says 5x faster. splunk.com, read
  • No approval, rollback or blast-radius control is stated on the page read, so the page does not tell a reader how a bad automated action is gated or undone. splunk.com, read
  • The page names case management but describes no audit trail or per-action record. It also states no price, and offers a quote and a free trial whose limits were not read. splunk.com, read

What only Splunk SOAR (Cisco) has

Splunk SOAR Cloud release 7.1.0 on 2025-11-06 added a Python update required tab on the Playbooks, Apps and Custom Function pages that lists code that could not be migrated. help.splunk.com, read

nonelisted

Pricing as published

vendor claim Subscription. The Splunk pricing page lists Splunk SOAR with a 'Get a quote' button and no price. The product page marks a Splunk SOAR subscription as required. splunk.com, read

Trial or free tier. The Splunk pricing page links a Splunk SOAR free trial (splunk.com/en_us/download/soar-free-trial.html). Trial length and limits were not read. splunk.com, read

Integrations. 300 published as a count. vendor claim splunk.com, read

2names on its pages

Named customers

Customers below are names on Splunk SOAR (Cisco)'s own pages, so each is a vendor claim. A logo is not a reference, and none of these entries says what the customer uses the product for.

2dated entries

Recent releases

DateReleaseSource
2026-09-02Splunk SOAR (On-premises) 8.7.0 general availability. Drops support for Python 3.9.vendor claim help.splunk.com, read
2025-11-06Splunk SOAR (Cloud) release 7.1.0. Adds a Python update required tab for code not migrated and automatic updates to the Visual Playbook Editor and asset configuration pages.vendor claim help.splunk.com, read

1graded

Claims Splunk SOAR (Cisco) makes about itself

Each is a vendor claim, graded A to D on the method published: A independent with method, B vendor-measured with sample and method, C a number with no method, D unverifiable. This site's own voice does not repeat any of them as fact.

ClaimMethod statedGradeSource
Tide detects and responds to threats 5x faster with Splunk SOARone customer (Tide). Measured by vendor.Cvendor claim splunk.com, read

Who should shortlist Splunk SOAR (Cisco)

  • You run Splunk Enterprise Security and want SOAR inside the same analyst workflow.
  • You want a published action count to check against your own list in a pilot.
  • You need cloud, on-premises or hybrid deployment and a free trial before you talk to sales.

Splunk SOAR (Cisco) places 6th of 14 at a total of 5.79, with 19 of 25 containment actions documented. A broad action library, with 19 of 25 containment actions documented and a choice of cloud, on-premises or hybrid deployment. Approval, rollback and audit trail are not stated on the product page. It shares a band with Cyware, Google Security Operations, Palo Alto Cortex XSOAR, Swimlane, Torq and Tines, so the order inside it is not settled by the evidence.

The same platform under other weights

Compare Splunk SOAR (Cisco)

Facts on this page were read 2026-11-03 and the days before it; the date beside each source is the date it was read. Last updated 4 November 2026.