Skip to the content
Time to Contain

D3 Security vs Swimlane (Turbine): which documents approval gates?

D3 Security scores 7.23 and Swimlane (Turbine) 5.84 on the published rubric, so D3 Security leads by 1.39. The row that decides it is approval and rollback controls, where D3 Security scores 8.0 against 5.0 for Swimlane. Swimlane scores higher on detection-to-response coupling. Both publish a containment time: D3 Security (4 to 8 minutes, vendor claim, grade C) and Swimlane (under 5 minutes, customer claim, grade C).

D3 Security is an AI SOC platform that keeps a deterministic playbook engine beside four autonomy modes. Swimlane is an automation platform, Turbine, that routes alerts to playbooks or AI agents. They split on approval, rollback and blast radius, where the rubric reads D3 Security as documented and Swimlane as partial on the pages read on 2026-11-03.

7.23to5.84Totals on the published rubric: D3 Security 1st, Swimlane (Turbine) 5th of 14. D3 Security leads by 1.39.

1.39points apart

Which row decides this pair?

The row that decides it is approval and rollback controls, where D3 Security scores 8.0 against 5.0 for Swimlane. That row carries 15 points of 100, a difference of 0.45 on the total. D3 Security scores higher on 6 of the eight criteria and Swimlane (Turbine) on 1.

On approval, rollback and blast radius, Swimlane says only that complex cases escalate to human-in-the-loop review, with no approval tiers, rollback or scope limits; D3 Security states built-in approval gates at every command-risk tier and four autonomy modes from Deterministic to Autonomous, but publishes no rollback or blast-radius control. Source: d3security.com/platform · Read

8criteria

How do they score criterion by criterion?

Each criterion is scored 0 to 10 from the vendor's own pages; points are weight times score divided by 100.
CriterionWeightD3 SecuritySwimlane (Turbine)Gap, first minus second
Native containment coverage (19 and 18 of 25 actions)257.77.4+0.3
Published time-to-contain evidence with method155.05.0level
Approval, rollback and blast-radius controls documented158.05.0+3.0
Explanation and audit trail158.56.0+2.5
Integration depth documented108.55.5+3.0
Detection-to-response coupling86.07.0-1.0
Pricing transparency63.53.0+0.5
Deployment and data handling69.05.0+4.0
Total1007.235.841.39

Full reasons and sources for every score are on the reviews of D3 Security and Swimlane (Turbine).

7criteria compared

What separates this pair?

For each criterion where the two scores differ, and always for approval controls and containment coverage, the reason recorded for each platform and the page it was read from, widest weighted gap first. Each score is a proposal under the published rubric bands, and a vendor's statement about itself is labelled a vendor claim.

Approval and rollback controls, 15 points: D3 Security 8.0, Swimlane (Turbine) 5.0

D3 Security. Page states "Built-in approval gates at every command-risk tier" and configurable gates for autonomous modes vendor claim; rollback and blast-radius controls are not stated.Source: d3security.com/platform · Read

Swimlane (Turbine). Only "complex cases escalate to human-in-the-loop review" is stated vendor claim; no approval tiers, rollback or scope limit.Source: swimlane.com/swimlane-turbine · Read

The explanation and audit trail, 15 points: D3 Security 8.5, Swimlane (Turbine) 6.0

D3 Security. Page describes an audit record "Immutable, timestamped, attributed at the command level" covering playbook steps, analyst approvals, integration calls and outcomes, with "regulator-ready" exports. vendor claimSource: d3security.com/platform · Read

Swimlane (Turbine). Page says "every action is auditable" vendor claim and describes AI-driven case management, without record contents or retention.Source: swimlane.com/swimlane-turbine · Read

Integration depth, 10 points: D3 Security 8.5, Swimlane (Turbine) 5.5

D3 Security. Page states "800+ connectors" and names Splunk, Sentinel, CrowdStrike, SentinelOne, Okta, Zscaler and Fortinet vendor claim; action-level list not read.Source: d3security.com/platform · Read

Swimlane (Turbine). No integration count; the page shows 24 vendor tiles and an "ever-expanding list of pre-built connectors".Source: swimlane.com/swimlane-turbine · Read

Deployment and data handling, 6 points: D3 Security 9.0, Swimlane (Turbine) 5.0

D3 Security. Page states Azure cloud with residency in the United States, Canada, Ireland or Japan, and a fully isolated on-premises option keeping LLM inference in the customer environment. vendor claimSource: d3security.com/platform · Read

Swimlane (Turbine). Cloud-native SaaS is described; on-premises, data residency and handling are not stated, and a Trust Center link was not read.Source: swimlane.com/swimlane-turbine · Read

Detection-to-response coupling, 8 points: D3 Security 6.0, Swimlane (Turbine) 7.0

D3 Security. Describes SIEM, EDR and XDR integrations and a SIEM alert triage use case; does not say whether Morpheus ingests detections without a SIEM.Source: d3security.com/platform · Read

Swimlane (Turbine). Page says customer detection logic alerts "flow into the same routing model as alerts from SIEM, EDR and cloud security tools" vendor claim, so a SIEM is not stated as required.Source: swimlane.com/swimlane-turbine · Read

Native containment coverage, 25 points: D3 Security 7.7, Swimlane (Turbine) 7.4

D3 Security. 19 of 25 containment actions documented as native or partner (76 percent) across 5 of 5 domains. Score is 2.0 plus 7.5 times the share, capped at 9.5.Source: the containment coverage scorecard · Read 2026-11-04

Swimlane (Turbine). 18 of 25 containment actions documented as native or partner (72 percent) across 5 of 5 domains. Score is 2.0 plus 7.5 times the share, capped at 9.5.Source: the containment coverage scorecard · Read 2026-11-03

Pricing transparency, 6 points: D3 Security 3.5, Swimlane (Turbine) 3.0

D3 Security. No prices; page says the agreement is structured on alert volume, deployment model and autonomy modes.Source: d3security.com/platform · Read

Swimlane (Turbine). Pricing is not published; page mentions tiered enterprise and MSSP options through sales.Source: swimlane.com/swimlane-turbine · Read

19 : 18actions of 25

How many containment actions does each document?

DomainD3 SecuritySwimlane (Turbine)
EDR6 of 65 of 6
Identity4 of 55 of 5
Email3 of 52 of 5
Cloud3 of 53 of 5
Network3 of 43 of 4
All five19 of 2518 of 25

Both publish a containment time: D3 Security (4 to 8 minutes, vendor claim, grade C) and Swimlane (under 5 minutes, customer claim, grade C). A cell counts only when the vendor's own documentation shows the action against a named target; the scorecard links every counted cell to that page.

5buyer types

Which fits each buyer type?

regulated financial
D3 Security has the stronger published case on approval and audit: it documents approval gates at every risk tier and an immutable audit record. Swimlane mentions human-in-the-loop review and auditable actions without detail.
lean team
Neither is easier to size up before a call. D3 Security prices by alert volume tier, shows no amounts, and lists SIEM, EDR and XDR integrations; Swimlane publishes no price and sells tiered enterprise and MSSP options through sales.
MSSP
Both state something for MSSPs. D3 Security reports cutting 145,000 alerts to 200 for human review at one unnamed MSSP customer (vendor claim); Swimlane offers tiered MSSP options through sales. Ask each for per-client approval settings and a tenant-level audit export.
Microsoft estate
Only D3 Security says anything specific: it names Microsoft Sentinel and Microsoft Defender among its connectors. Swimlane states no Microsoft-specific detail on the pages read.
CrowdStrike estate
Only D3 Security says anything specific: it names CrowdStrike among its connectors. Swimlane states no CrowdStrike-specific detail on the pages read.

When should you pick each?

Pick D3 Security when approval controls must be readable in the docs, because it states built-in approval gates at every command-risk tier and four autonomy modes from Deterministic to Autonomous, but publishes no rollback or blast-radius control.

Pick Swimlane when detection and response should arrive in one product, because it says customer detection logic and alerts from SIEM, EDR and cloud tools flow into the same routing model, so a SIEM is not stated as required.

Read dates are on each source line. See also D3 Security alternatives and Swimlane (Turbine) alternatives, or the buyer-type rankings.

3questions

Questions about this pair

Which scores higher, D3 Security or Swimlane (Turbine)?
D3 Security, 7.23 to 5.84 on the published rubric. Swimlane (Turbine) scores higher on 1 of the eight criteria, and D3 Security on 6.
Which documents more containment actions, D3 Security or Swimlane (Turbine)?
D3 Security, with 19 of 25 as native or partner on the pages read, against 18 for Swimlane (Turbine). The scorecard links every counted cell to the vendor page it was read from.
Do D3 Security and Swimlane (Turbine) publish a time to contain?
Both publish a containment time: D3 Security (4 to 8 minutes, vendor claim, grade C) and Swimlane (under 5 minutes, customer claim, grade C). A grade C figure has no published sample or method, so it is not comparable with a number measured another way.