Skip to the content
Time to Contain

Swimlane (Turbine) vs Tines: which documents more actions?

Swimlane (Turbine) and Tines are a draw inside one band (5.84 to 5.62 on the published rubric, 0.22 apart), so the evidence does not order them. The widest gap between them is on native containment coverage, where Tines scores 8.6 against 7.4 for Swimlane. Swimlane scores higher on 5 of the eight criteria and Tines on 3. Only Swimlane (under 5 minutes, customer claim, grade C) publishes a containment time.

Swimlane is an automation platform, Turbine, that routes alerts to playbooks or AI agents. Tines is a no-code workflow platform with a Cases add-on and an AI SOC page. They split on published time-to-contain evidence, where the rubric reads Swimlane as partial and Tines as not documented on the pages read on 2026-11-03.

5.84to5.62Totals on the published rubric: Swimlane (Turbine) 5th, Tines 8th of 14. They share a band, 0.22 apart, so the evidence does not order them.

0.22points apart

Which rows matter most inside this band?

The widest gap between them is on native containment coverage, where Tines scores 8.6 against 7.4 for Swimlane. That row carries 25 points of 100, a difference of 0.30 on the total. Swimlane (Turbine) scores higher on 5 of the eight criteria and Tines on 3.

On published time-to-contain evidence, Swimlane links a resource titled MTTR Down to 6.7 Min with Hero AI, and a customer, Thetabyte, claims threats contained in under 5 minutes, neither with a published method, while Tines publishes no MTTR or containment figure. Source: swimlane.com/customers · Read

8criteria

How do they score criterion by criterion?

Each criterion is scored 0 to 10 from the vendor's own pages; points are weight times score divided by 100.
CriterionWeightSwimlane (Turbine)TinesGap, first minus second
Native containment coverage (18 and 22 of 25 actions)257.48.6-1.2
Published time-to-contain evidence with method155.03.0+2.0
Approval, rollback and blast-radius controls documented155.03.5+1.5
Explanation and audit trail156.05.0+1.0
Integration depth documented105.56.5-1.0
Detection-to-response coupling87.06.5+0.5
Pricing transparency63.05.5-2.5
Deployment and data handling65.04.0+1.0
Total1005.845.620.22

Full reasons and sources for every score are on the reviews of Swimlane (Turbine) and Tines.

8criteria compared

What separates this pair?

For each criterion where the two scores differ, and always for approval controls and containment coverage, the reason recorded for each platform and the page it was read from, widest weighted gap first. Each score is a proposal under the published rubric bands, and a vendor's statement about itself is labelled a vendor claim.

Native containment coverage, 25 points: Swimlane (Turbine) 7.4, Tines 8.6

Swimlane (Turbine). 18 of 25 containment actions documented as native or partner (72 percent) across 5 of 5 domains. Score is 2.0 plus 7.5 times the share, capped at 9.5.Source: the containment coverage scorecard · Read 2026-11-03

Tines. 22 of 25 containment actions documented as native or partner (88 percent) across 5 of 5 domains. Score is 2.0 plus 7.5 times the share, capped at 9.5.Source: the containment coverage scorecard · Read 2026-11-03

Time-to-contain evidence, 15 points: Swimlane (Turbine) 5.0, Tines 3.0

Swimlane (Turbine). A resource titled "MTTR Down to 6.7 Min with Hero AI" is linked, and the case studies index carries a Thetabyte customer story claiming sub-5 minute threat containment, a customer claim published by the vendor vendor claim; neither page describes a method, sample or period, and the blog page gives no time-to-contain figure.Source: swimlane.com/swimlane-turbine · Read Source: swimlane.com/resources/case-studies · Read

Tines. No MTTR or containment figure on the pages read.Source: tines.com/product · Read

Approval and rollback controls, 15 points: Swimlane (Turbine) 5.0, Tines 3.5

Swimlane (Turbine). Only "complex cases escalate to human-in-the-loop review" is stated vendor claim; no approval tiers, rollback or scope limit.Source: swimlane.com/swimlane-turbine · Read

Tines. The product page says Agents enable "autonomous workflow activity and user interaction" but states no approval step, rollback or scope limit.Source: tines.com/product · Read

The explanation and audit trail, 15 points: Swimlane (Turbine) 6.0, Tines 5.0

Swimlane (Turbine). Page says "every action is auditable" vendor claim and describes AI-driven case management, without record contents or retention.Source: swimlane.com/swimlane-turbine · Read

Tines. Cases are described as "case and incident management" with a collaborative workspace; no audit log or per-action record is stated.Source: tines.com/product · Read

Pricing transparency, 6 points: Swimlane (Turbine) 3.0, Tines 5.5

Swimlane (Turbine). Pricing is not published; page mentions tiered enterprise and MSSP options through sales.Source: swimlane.com/swimlane-turbine · Read

Tines. A free edition with 3 live workflows and a one-time USD 50 AI allowance is published; paid editions show no price, "Get pricing" through a demo.Source: tines.com/pricing · Read

Integration depth, 10 points: Swimlane (Turbine) 5.5, Tines 6.5

Swimlane (Turbine). No integration count; the page shows 24 vendor tiles and an "ever-expanding list of pre-built connectors".Source: swimlane.com/swimlane-turbine · Read

Tines. Product search shows "521 products" as integrations; action-level detail not read.Source: tines.com/product · Read

Deployment and data handling, 6 points: Swimlane (Turbine) 5.0, Tines 4.0

Swimlane (Turbine). Cloud-native SaaS is described; on-premises, data residency and handling are not stated, and a Trust Center link was not read.Source: swimlane.com/swimlane-turbine · Read

Tines. Pricing page says "Flexible hosting options are available" without naming them; data handling is not stated.Source: tines.com/pricing · Read

Detection-to-response coupling, 8 points: Swimlane (Turbine) 7.0, Tines 6.5

Swimlane (Turbine). Page says customer detection logic alerts "flow into the same routing model as alerts from SIEM, EDR and cloud security tools" vendor claim, so a SIEM is not stated as required.Source: swimlane.com/swimlane-turbine · Read

Tines. Report triage example accepts "automated webhook notifications", so direct ingestion by webhook is shown; SIEM is not mentioned.Source: tines.com/product · Read

18 : 22actions of 25

How many containment actions does each document?

DomainSwimlane (Turbine)Tines
EDR5 of 66 of 6
Identity5 of 55 of 5
Email2 of 54 of 5
Cloud3 of 54 of 5
Network3 of 43 of 4
All five18 of 2522 of 25

Only Swimlane (under 5 minutes, customer claim, grade C) publishes a containment time. A cell counts only when the vendor's own documentation shows the action against a named target; the scorecard links every counted cell to that page.

5buyer types

Which fits each buyer type?

regulated financial
Neither separates itself on published approval and audit detail. Swimlane mentions human-in-the-loop review and auditable actions without detail; Tines states neither an approval step nor an audit log on the pages read. Ask both for the control documentation in writing.
lean team
Tines is easier to size up before a call: it publishes a free edition with 3 live workflows. Swimlane publishes no price and sells tiered enterprise and MSSP options through sales.
MSSP
Only Swimlane states anything for MSSPs: it offers tiered MSSP options through sales. Tines states no MSSP terms on the pages read.
Microsoft estate
Only Tines says anything specific: it lists Microsoft and Microsoft Teams in its story library. Swimlane states no Microsoft-specific detail on the pages read.
CrowdStrike estate
Only Tines says anything specific: it lists CrowdStrike in its story library. Swimlane states no CrowdStrike-specific detail on the pages read.

When should you pick each?

Pick Swimlane when the record a reviewer reads after an action decides the purchase, because it says every action is auditable without describing record contents or retention.

Pick Tines when connector count and breadth matter most, because it shows 521 products as integrations in its product search, without action-level detail.

Read dates are on each source line. See also Swimlane (Turbine) alternatives and Tines alternatives, or the buyer-type rankings.

3questions

Questions about this pair

Which scores higher, Swimlane (Turbine) or Tines?
Swimlane (Turbine), 5.84 to 5.62 on the published rubric; they share a band, so the evidence does not order them. Tines scores higher on 3 of the eight criteria, and Swimlane (Turbine) on 5.
Which documents more containment actions, Swimlane (Turbine) or Tines?
Tines, with 22 of 25 as native or partner on the pages read, against 18 for Swimlane (Turbine). The scorecard links every counted cell to the vendor page it was read from.
Do Swimlane (Turbine) and Tines publish a time to contain?
Only Swimlane (under 5 minutes, customer claim, grade C) publishes a containment time. A grade C figure has no published sample or method, so it is not comparable with a number measured another way.