Time to Contain

D3 Security vs Prophet Security

D3 Security is an AI SOC platform that keeps a deterministic playbook engine beside four autonomy modes. Prophet Security describes itself as an agentic SOC platform sold with a 24x7 service, Watchtower. The rubric reads D3 Security as documented and Prophet Security as partial on what a reviewer can read after an action, from pages read 2026-11-03.

7.08to4.87Totals on the published rubric: D3 Security 1st, Prophet Security 11th of 14. D3 Security leads by 2.21.

2.21points apart

The difference that decides it

On what a reviewer can read after an action, D3 Security describes an immutable, timestamped audit record attributed at the command level, with regulator-ready exports (vendor claim), while Prophet Security says determinations can be audited, without describing record contents or export. d3security.com, read

8criteria

Rubric side by side

Each criterion is scored 0 to 10 from the vendor's own pages; points are weight times score divided by 100.
CriterionWeightD3 SecurityProphet SecurityGap, first minus second
Native containment coverage (19 and 0 of 25 actions)257.72.0+5.7
Published time-to-contain evidence with method154.05.0-1.0
Approval, rollback and blast-radius controls documented158.06.5+1.5
Explanation and audit trail158.55.5+3.0
Integration depth documented108.57.0+1.5
Detection-to-response coupling86.06.5-0.5
Pricing transparency63.53.0+0.5
Deployment and data handling69.07.0+2.0
Total1007.084.872.21

Full reasons and sources for every score are on the profiles of D3 Security and Prophet Security.

8.0 : 6.5approval score each

Approval and rollback controls

D3 Security. Page states "Built-in approval gates at every command-risk tier" and configurable gates for autonomous modes; rollback and blast-radius controls are not stated. d3security.com, read

Prophet Security. Page says it "Responds through scoped Agent Actions, autonomously or with your sign-off"; tiers, rollback and scope limits are not stated. prophetsecurity.ai, read

19 : 0actions of 25

Containment coverage by domain

DomainD3 SecurityProphet Security
EDR6 of 60 of 6
Identity4 of 50 of 5
Email3 of 50 of 5
Cloud3 of 50 of 5
Network3 of 40 of 4
All five19 of 250 of 25

Published time to contain: D3 Security, 4 to 8 minutes (vendor claim, grade C); Prophet Security, no published figure.

5buyer types

Verdict by buyer type

regulated financial
D3 Security has the stronger published case on approval and audit: it documents approval gates at every risk tier and an immutable audit record. Prophet Security previews remediation and takes only approved actions, but describes no audit record.
lean team
Neither is easier to size up before a call. D3 Security prices by alert volume tier, shows no amounts, and lists SIEM, EDR and XDR integrations; Prophet Security offers a free proof of value but publishes no price.
MSSP
Only D3 Security states anything for MSSPs: it reports cutting 145,000 alerts to 200 for human review at one unnamed MSSP customer (vendor claim). Prophet Security states no MSSP terms on the pages read.
Microsoft estate
Both name Microsoft pieces. D3 Security names Microsoft Sentinel and Microsoft Defender among its connectors; Prophet Security names Microsoft Sentinel and Entra ID among its integrations.
CrowdStrike estate
Both name CrowdStrike pieces. D3 Security names CrowdStrike among its connectors; Prophet Security names CrowdStrike Falcon Next-Gen SIEM among its integrations.

When to pick each

Pick D3 Security when the record a reviewer reads after an action decides the purchase, because it describes an immutable, timestamped audit record attributed at the command level, with regulator-ready exports (vendor claim).

Pick Prophet Security when detection and response should arrive in one product, because it ingests through its integrations and does not say whether a SIEM is needed.

Read dates are on each source link. See also D3 Security alternatives and Prophet Security alternatives, or the buyer-type rankings.