Time to Contain

Mate Security

Mate Security sells a security operations platform that describes itself as agentic and announced a Series A on 2026-07-28. It places eleventh of 14 at 4.87, tied with Prophet Security, because its public pages document none of the 25 containment actions. It publishes no time-to-contain figure, and is ahead of most platforms on approval design and the explanation trail.

no figureNo time-to-contain figure found on the pages read for this platform.
4.87Total on the published rubric, 11th of 14, level with Prophet Security. 0 of 25 containment actions documented.

11=of 14

Where Mate Security stands on this scorecard

Mate Security is 11th of 14, level with Prophet Security, at a total of 4.87. Its public pages document 0 of 25 containment actions, so its coverage score is 2.0 of 10. mate.security, read

On the seven criteria other than coverage, Mate Security scores 5.83. It is ahead of most platforms on approval design and the explanation trail, both read from its own platform page and both vendor claims. It is behind on time-to-contain evidence, integration depth, detection coupling and deployment detail. Coverage carries 25 percent of the total. With a coverage score of 2.0 the total is 4.87.

This is a finding about public material. Mate Security names no supported containment action for any tool on the pages read, so no cell counts. It is not a claim that Mate Security cannot take these actions, and a documented action list would move the score.

What Mate Security is

Mate describes its platform as AI agents that investigate alerts, hunt, tune detections and take response actions, using a graph of organisational context and structured procedures it calls Gamebooks (mate.security/about, read 2026-11-03, vendor claim). It calls the category Agentic Cyber Defense. That is the vendor's wording, not this site's judgement.

On customers, the home page (read 2026-11-03) lists Lead Bank and OCBC with named CISO testimonials. They are vendor claims about SOC investigation. The Lead Bank quote speaks of the agents maintaining exceptional accuracy, and the page says Mate automates the metadata and reporting regulators require. The OCBC quote speaks of automating investigations. Neither quote mentions containment, response time or an audit trail format. This site found no case study, press release or statement from either bank, and does not know scope, dates or contract terms. It does not say either bank uses Mate for containment, or that any regulator has accepted Mate's records.

vendor claim Agentic security operations platform. AI agents investigate alerts, hunt, write and tune detections and take response actions, using a graph of organisational context (the Security Context Graph) and structured investigation procedures (Gamebooks). Mate calls the category Agentic Cyber Defense. mate.security, read

Products named: Mate platform, Gamebooks, Agentic Threat Hunting, SOAR replacement.

Ownership. Series A announced 2026-07-28 with Insight Partners, Team8, Canaan Partners and M12. No acquisition, merger or rebrand found on the Mate newsroom or blog. vendor claim mate.security, read

Funding. A Series A of USD 35 million was announced on 2026-07-28, as headlined by Axios on Mate Security's newsroom (a press report; Mate's own pages state no amount). The earlier seed was USD 15.5 million, announced 2025-11-17. mate.security, read insightpartners.com, read

no figureon the pages read

Published time to contain

FigureMetricSample and who measuredGradeSource
Merlin Entertainments reduced MTTR by 93 percenttime to respond or remediateone customer, period and baseline not stated. Measured by vendor. Date: not stated.Cvendor claim mate.security, read

None of these is a time to contain, so the home table shows an open bar. Grades run A (independent, method published) to D (unverifiable). The evidence register explains each grade.

0 of 250 of 5 domains

Containment coverage

Of 25 containment actions across EDR, identity, email, cloud and network, Mate Security documents 0 as native or partner on the pages read: 0 native, 0 partner, 0 custom step only, 25 not documented. Coverage share is 0 percent.

  • native, vendor-documented
  • partner or third-party documented
  • custom step only
  • not documented on the pages read
Mate Security: 25 containment actions by status
PlatformEDRIdentityEmailCloudNetwork
Isolate hostRelease isolationKill processQuarantine fileRun script or live responseBlock hashDisable userForce password resetRevoke sessions or tokensRequire MFA re-enrolmentRemove from group or roleDelete a delivered messageQuarantine a delivered messageBlock sender or domainRemove a URL rewrite exemptionPull from quarantineDisable IAM user or access keyRevoke cloud sessionIsolate or stop an instanceChange a security group or firewall ruleRevoke OAuth app consentBlock IP or domain at the firewallBlock at the proxy or DNS filterDisable a switch port or NAC quarantineAdd to a threat list on the NDR
Mate Security0 of 25 documentedMate Security: Isolate host, not documentedMate Security: Release isolation, not documentedMate Security: Kill process, not documentedMate Security: Quarantine file, not documentedMate Security: Run script or live response, not documentedMate Security: Block hash, not documentedMate Security: Disable user, not documentedMate Security: Force password reset, not documentedMate Security: Revoke sessions or tokens, not documentedMate Security: Require MFA re-enrolment, not documentedMate Security: Remove from group or role, not documentedMate Security: Delete a delivered message, not documentedMate Security: Quarantine a delivered message, not documentedMate Security: Block sender or domain, not documentedMate Security: Remove a URL rewrite exemption, not documentedMate Security: Pull from quarantine, not documentedMate Security: Disable IAM user or access key, not documentedMate Security: Revoke cloud session, not documentedMate Security: Isolate or stop an instance, not documentedMate Security: Change a security group or firewall rule, not documentedMate Security: Revoke OAuth app consent, not documentedMate Security: Block IP or domain at the firewall, not documentedMate Security: Block at the proxy or DNS filter, not documentedMate Security: Disable a switch port or NAC quarantine, not documentedMate Security: Add to a threat list on the NDR, not documented

Basis: mate.security platform, gamebooks, replace-soar-with-ai pages, llms.txt and the blog posts on cloud incident response, incident response checklist and Gamebooks. The public site describes response with human approval, three autonomy tiers and CPR scoring, and names CrowdStrike, Microsoft Defender and Device42 only as collection sources. No integration documentation or action list is public. Read 2026-11-04.

Limits: No public action documentation, so every cell is not documented. This is a statement about public docs, not about the product.

The full grid, with the page behind each cell, is on the scorecard. A cell reads not documented when the pages read did not show the action. That is a finding about public material, not a claim that the action is absent.

4.87rank 11 of 14

Rubric scores

Mate Security is in a band with Microsoft Sentinel (5.14), Dropzone AI (5.00), Prophet Security (4.87). A band is a run of neighbouring totals. Bands chain: a new band starts only where the gap to the total above exceeds 0.25, so a band can be wider than 0.25 and the order inside it is not an order.

Mate Security: eight criteria, each scored 0 to 10, weighted, and summed. Weighted points are weight times score divided by 100.
CriterionWeightScorePointsStatus, reason and source
Native containment coverage252.00.500not documented. 0 of 25 containment actions documented as native or partner (0 percent) across 0 of 5 domains. Score is 2.0 plus 7.5 times the share, capped at 9.5.
Published time-to-contain evidence with method154.00.600not documented. No containment time published; the FAQ says simple cases resolve "in seconds, complex ones in minutes" with no method, and the 97 percent false-positive auto-closure figure has no denominator or period. vendor claim
mate.security, read
Approval, rollback and blast-radius controls documented157.61.140partial. Platform page names Recommend only, Supervised ("Risky changes still ask") and Auto-run, scores each action on confidence, precision and reversibility, and returns a category to Supervised on drift; there is no per-action doc, rollback mechanics or scope term on the pages read. vendor claim
mate.security, read
Explanation and audit trail157.01.050partial. Platform page says verdicts come with "the evidence trail your team can audit and tune", Decision Traces record why an analyst decided, and facts carry source, confidence and freshness; log format, export and retention are not described. vendor claim
mate.security, read mate.security, read
Integration depth documented105.50.550partial. No integration count; pages name EDR, Microsoft and Google identity and mail, Slack, ticketing, cloud risk and email security as categories, and say connectors can be swapped without rebuilding a Gamebook. vendor claim
mate.security, read
Detection-to-response coupling85.00.400partial. Pages say Mate starts in shadow mode on real alerts; which detection sources it takes directly, and whether a SIEM is needed, is not stated.
mate.security, read
Pricing transparency65.50.330partial. No price on mate.security; a secondary read of an AWS Marketplace listing (not opened here) shows an Enterprise Tier at USD 150,000 per 12-month contract, read by that source on 2026-10-11. secondary source
mate.security, read
Deployment and data handling65.00.300partial. Pages show HIPAA, SOC 2 and ISO badges and a Trust Center link; deployment model, data residency and retention are not described. vendor claim
mate.security, read
Total1004.87Sum of the eight weighted points above, to two decimals.

Scores are proposals under the rubric bands, computed in code from the published weights. Where a score rests on a vendor's marketing page only, a read of its documentation can move it.

Where Mate Security is strong

  • Vendor claim: the platform page names three modes, Recommend only, Supervised (risky changes still ask) and Auto-run. It scores each action on confidence, precision and reversibility, and returns a category to Supervised if accuracy drifts. mate.security, read
  • Vendor claim: verdicts come with an evidence trail the team can audit and tune, Decision Traces record why an analyst decided, and stored facts carry source, confidence and freshness. Log format, export and retention are not described. mate.security, read
  • Vendor claim: Mate starts in shadow mode on real alerts, and a custom Gamebook needs sign-off before it goes live. That is a rollout control a lead can test in a pilot. mate.security, read

Where Mate Security is behind

  • Time-to-contain evidence: none. There is no figure and no method. The FAQ says simple cases resolve in seconds and complex ones in minutes. The 97 percent false-positive auto-closure figure has no denominator or period. A Mate llms.txt summary read on 2026-11-04 states a 93 percent MTTR reduction at Merlin Entertainments, one customer with no period or baseline, and the home page quote gives no number. mate.security, read
  • No list of supported containment actions per tool and no integration count are published. The platform page and blog name revoking a session, isolating a host and blocking a URL or domain in prose only, so the scorecard has little to count. mate.security, read
  • Deployment detail is thin. SOC 2, ISO and HIPAA badges are shown, but the Trust Center did not render without JavaScript, and data residency, retention and agent permissions are not described. mate.security, read

What only Mate Security has

Mate announced a Series A on 2026-07-28 with Insight Partners, Team8, Canaan Partners and M12; press headlines put it at 35M USD, after a 15.5M USD seed announced 2025-11-17. mate.security, read

1prices listed

Pricing as published

vendor claim No pricing page on mate.security. The only public price is an AWS Marketplace 12-month contract line of USD 150,000 for the Mate Enterprise Tier, with the usage unit undefined and private offers available. aws.amazon.com, read

ItemPriceSource
Mate Enterprise Tier, 12-month contract on AWS Marketplace (one usage tier; the unit a tier measures is not defined on the listing; private offers via sales@mate.security)USD 150,000 per 12 monthsaws.amazon.com, read

Integrations. No count published; named: CrowdStrike, Microsoft Defender, Device42, STACKIT (hosting), AWS Marketplace (procurement). vendor claim mate.security, read

17names on its pages

Named customers

Customers below are names on Mate Security's own pages, so each is a vendor claim. A logo is not a reference, and none of these entries says what the customer uses the product for.

  • Bridgewater Associates, Lead Bank, Fitch Group, AlphaSense, OCBC, Merlin Entertainments, monday.com, Freshworks, Demandbase, Applied Systems, Anaplan, Bright Data, Koan, Playtika, Water-IT, Unidentified logo (image alt text reads 'disount logo'; page does not name the company). mate.security, read
  • Unnamed Fortune 500 enterprise (711 SOAR playbooks migrated to 10 Gamebooks). mate.security, read

Lead Bank and OCBC are listed on Mate Security's home page with named CISO testimonials, read 2026-11-03, and these are vendor claims. The quotes concern SOC investigation. Neither mentions containment, response time or an audit trail format. No case study, press release or statement from either bank was found, so scope, dates and contract terms are unknown. vendor claim mate.security, read

8dated entries

Recent releases

DateReleaseSource
2026-11-03Blue City benchmark published on Mate Labs. Simulated-enterprise benchmark for AI defenders; five out-of-the-box agents compared; Mate system not attached.vendor claim mate.security, read
2026-10CPR framework (Confidence, Precision, Reversibility) described as the gate for autonomous actions. Blog post 2026-10-18 and platform page; webinar 2026-11-17.vendor claim mate.security, read
2026-08-26Gamebooks launched. Structured investigation procedures; SOAR playbook migration into Gamebooks. SiliconANGLE coverage 2026-08-26 per newsroom; Mate blog post 2026-08-27.vendor claim mate.security, read
2026-07-28Series A. See facts funding_series_a.vendor claim mate.security, read
2026-05-18Continuous Detection / Continuous Response (CD/CR) framework published. Detection, investigation and response on one reasoning plane; investigations compress into detections.vendor claim mate.security, read
2026-02-19Security Context Graph introduced. Graph of 'memories' that agents traverse during investigations.vendor claim mate.security, read
2026-01-15Listed on AWS Marketplace. Subscribe through existing AWS accounts; counts toward AWS commitments.vendor claim mate.security, read
2026-01-05Selected for CrowdStrike, AWS and NVIDIA startup accelerator. Eight-week program ending 2026-03-03.vendor claim mate.security, read

13graded

Claims Mate Security makes about itself

Each is a vendor claim, graded A to D on the method published: A independent with method, B vendor-measured with sample and method, C a number with no method, D unverifiable. This site's own voice does not repeat any of them as fact.

ClaimMethod statedGradeSource
98.7 percent accuracy with Mate on 7,200 alerts7,200 alerts (stated in chart caption). Measured by vendor.Cvendor claim mate.security, read
97 percent false-positive auto-closurenot stated. Measured by vendor.Cvendor claim mate.security, read
6.1x investigation coveragenot stated. Measured by vendor.Cvendor claim mate.security, read
Frontier models alone reach 69 percent (Gemini 3.8 Flash), 51 percent (GPT-6.1 Sol, subset), 72 percent (Claude Opus 5.5) and 71 percent (Claude Sonnet 5.5) on 7,200 alerts; Mate reaches 98.7 percent7,200 alerts; GPT-6.1 Sol on a subset (size not stated). Measured by vendor.Cvendor claim mate.security, read
In testing on real customer cases, generic AI was right about 60 percent of the time; with Mate's context about 97 percentnot stated ('real customer cases'). Measured by vendor.Cvendor claim mate.security, read
6x more alerts investigated at a Fortune 500 customerone unnamed Fortune 500 customer. Measured by vendor.Cvendor claim mate.security, read
80 percent of false positives closed automatically at a Fortune 500 customerone unnamed Fortune 500 customer. Measured by vendor.Cvendor claim mate.security, read
Mate agents close up to 85 percent of false positivesnot stated. Measured by vendor.Cvendor claim mate.security, read
Investigations that took 45 minutes take 45 secondsnot stated. Measured by vendor.Cvendor claim mate.security, read
711 SOAR playbooks migrated to 10 Gamebooks at a Fortune 500 company; migration expected to take 9 months, took 3 weeksone unnamed Fortune 500 company. Measured by customer.Cvendor claim mate.security, read
Blue City benchmark: five out-of-the-box defenders (three Codex, two Claude Code setups) over 32 scored incidents each; effectiveness 40.2 to 80.1 percent, cost about 0.45 to 4.05 USD per incident32 scored incidents per defender, 8 scenario families run as twin pairs, synthetic enterprise. Measured by vendor.Bvendor claim mate.security, read
Nearly 100 percent of investigations moved into Mate at AlphaSense, with a measurable drop in TTA and TTRone customer, as quoted. Measured by customer.Cvendor claim mate.security, read
Winning nearly 100 percent of the POVs and bake-offs entered; growing ARR by triple digitsnot stated. Measured by vendor.Cvendor claim mate.security, read

Who should shortlist Mate Security

  • Your first need is investigation quality and an approval design you can read, and you will test containment in a pilot rather than from public pages.
  • You want a shadow-mode start on live alerts before any action runs.
  • You run an MSSP and want a platform that its operator, Water-IT, says lets analysts serve any customer stack (vendor claim).

Mate Security places 11th of 14, level with Prophet Security at a total of 4.87, with 0 of 25 containment actions documented. Mate is ahead of most platforms on approval design and the explanation trail, both read from its own platform page and both vendor claims. It publishes no per-tool action list, so the scorecard counts none of the 25 actions, which sets the ceiling on what it can score. A published action list would move its place.

The same platform under other weights

Compare Mate Security

Facts on this page were read 2026-11-04 and the days before it; the date beside each source is the date it was read. Last updated 4 November 2026.